As always Winer is worried, rightfully so, but people aren't going to log out of facebook. It seems Zuck really wants to get back at people for making him pull "Beacon" back then, so he reintroduced it. Of course it's a privacy concern, but i think people no longer have illusions about their privacy on facebook.
I actually have a separate browser that I use just for Facebook. Granted I only do this because FB doesn't work for me in Chrome, but it's still a pretty easy way of getting the same result.
# NJC 08/07/10 Remove Flash cookies and everything to do with Flash, including left-over Flash files in /tmp
01 13 * * Wed /usr/bin/rm -rf /home/nick/.macromedia/Flash_Player/*
02 13 * * Wed /usr/bin/rm -rf /tmp/Flash*
That's not true; there is a very, very specific alert shown before Facebook accesses any phone numbers. I'm not making this up, it's just how it works. Facebook does not get anything "whether you like it or not". They get the information if you specifically allow it, and only if you try to enable the Sync feature.